25 Before 25

Even though it comes once a year, I tend to forget about my birthday until it is about a month away. Birthdays have never really been a huge deal to me. The last few years I’ve gone with a few friends to the museum, the beach, kayaking, and out to dinner. Not a big deal, but always a day well spent.

So when the thought of my upcoming birthday recently crossed my mind, I was expecting much of the the same thing.  However, it feels different this time.  I’m not necessarily concerned about getting older, but that 25 seems like some sort of milestone. Like I’m supposed to grow up now, instead of playing pretend. I was telling this to my mom when she asked the question: “Well, have you done everything you wanted to before you turned 25?”

Well, I’m not sure.  Of course I continuously have a list of things I want to do or accomplish, but I hadn’t really considered if any of those things needed to be completed by the time I was 25. So instead of thinking if I’d reached or missed goals, I thought that I would look at the things I have  actually accomplished in 25 years. And yes,  I’m counting the little things, too.

 

1. Learned to knit

2.  Made brownies from scratch

3. Went bunjee jumping

4.  Studied abroad

5.  Learned a second language

6. Got a BS degree

7. Moved somewhere on my own

8. Read at least 1000 books

9. Helped plan a benefit concert/art show that raised over $1500 for a school in Uganda

10. Wrote something over 50 pages long

11. Donated over a pint of blood

12. Traveled on three different continents

13. Taught college

14. Owned a car that’s paid off

15. Performed in a play

16.  Went white water rafting

17. Climbed the Incline in Manitou

18. Got an MA degree

19. Got a tattoo

20. Taken lots of fun road trips with friends

21. Owned a piano

22. Started my own, little, personal library

23. Successfully learned how to throw (clay, not a football)

24. Went to a presidential inauguration

25.  Got a TEFL certification

 

Not a bad list, if I do say so myself. And I can think of more to add. Maybe 25 isn’t that big of a deal, but it’s nice to know that it’s been well spent. I’m wondering now if I should start on my 30 before 30…

6 thoughts on “25 Before 25

  1. Really inspiring. More so because almost all that you have accomplished are part of my to-accomplish/to-do list, too! 🙂

  2. Thanks! And I have no doubt that you’ll be able to accomplish all that you want. Let me know if I can help you or give your more information about any of the stuff I listed. 🙂

  3. I don’t know that I have something that’s 77 pages in progress, but I’ll try it with something I do have in progress! (I’ll have to type it first, though. I still write most initial drafts via pen and paper.) Thanks!

Leave a Reply

