2012 Book # 11

Ok, I know I’m skipping around a bit, but I really have been keeping track of the books I’ve been reading. I haven’t quite gotten around to writing about the others yet, but I thought that this one was pertinent enough that it couldn’t want any longer.  About a week ago, I finished Dr. Meg Jay’s The Defining Decade: Why the 20s Matter and How to Make the Most of them Now.  To best sum up how I felt about it, I’ll just share my Amazon review:

I am a twenty five year old English teacher, living a life similar to many others of my generation–affected by the economic downturn and expectations to do great things, when so much seems to hold us back.

When I first picked up Dr. Jay’s book, I expected it to be cliché and full of “carpe diem” sentiments. I’m so glad to say that I was wrong. My copy of The Defining Decade is saturated in highlighter and ink, because there were very few pages that didn’t constitute notes. Everything in that book spoke to me in a way that no book, parent, friend, or advisor ever has. Though I’d been trying to get my life together, I started trying harder. I gained a new perspective. I made myself a timeline. I recommended it to all my twenty-something friends and even lent out my copy, scribbles and highlights included.

It has lit a new fire within me; I finished it feeling relieved and reassured that things will work out and that I just have to continue trying.

In her book, Dr. Jay speaks directly to a generation that is often spoken down to or dismissed. From one twenty-something to another, this book will relate to you and your situation in life. Dr. Jay gets us and she really wants to help us achieve great things, big and small.

Though I may not agree with every single detail of the book, I fully agree with the overall sentiment: make the most of your life.  If you are a twenty-something or a parent of a twenty-something, read this book immediately. Grade: A+

Leave a Reply

