Where is Batman when you need him?

When I briefly checked my phone this morning and had six messages, I figured something must be up.  I’m never that popular at 8am. The messages mostly asked if I was ok and alive and if I was at “the theatre.” I didn’t go to any Batman showing last night. (It’s harder to go out late when you have to work and do a bunch of boring grown up things the next day) and went to bed by midnight, so I had no idea what they were talking about. Apparently, my friends back East thought I was dead. So, thank you internet, I Googled why and found the horrifying reason.

At a midnight showing of the third Batman in Aurora, Colorado (which is about 45 minutes north of me), a gunman with a gas mask entered a local movie theatre. He released some sort of gas and began to open fire. According to The Denver Post, there were 71 were shot, 12 of which died. Thanks to smart phones, aftermath videos are surfacing on Youtube, and thanks to the general public, rumors are surfacing as well. One rumor is that the suspect died his hair red to appear like “The Joker.”

The suspect is 24 year old James Holmes. His mugshot is pasted all over the internet; it has an eerie quality to it as he smirks at the camera and obviously lacks any remorse. As to why someone would do such a horrible and inane thing has yet to be determined. Though when a reason actually does surface, I doubt it will ever be reasonable enough.

Obama, who was here less than a month ago to evaluate the Waldo Canyon Fires and is currently in the middle of campaigning for reelection, spoke earlier today about the shooting, saying that “There are going to be other days for politics. This, I think, is a day for prayer and reflection.” He went on to call such violence “senseless” and canceled some of his campaign stops to return to DC.

It didn’t take long for me to figure out why I was getting so many concerned messages and though I was glad to be safe, I also felt somewhat guilty texting back to say that I was ok and that the shooting was just north, so not to worry. But my heart goes out to those who actually were there and are experiencing a sense of loss far greater than the rest of us.

To find out more information about the Aurora Batman shooting, click on any of the links below:

Google News Listings

The Denver Post

Huffington Post

The Atlantic

 

Leave a Reply

