Packages from home

I don’t care what technological advances the world makes, there will be nothing like getting snail mail. It always makes you feel good to make you know someone is thinking of you and turning those thoughts tangible. Right before the Bayram I got a package from mom and although my friend called it “diabetes in a box,” I was pretty stoked about it:

And recently I received this package from a friend from college:

True, this one is also mostly food, but I love that people are responding to my longing for Oreos. If only they could send me an enchilada. And in addition to packages, I’ve received cards, postcards, and even handwritten letters. When I got home from work today, there was a notice on the door for yet another package to pick up. I cannot believe how supportive and thoughtful people have been. Living in Turkey is an incredible experience, which is never short of adventures and learning opportunities, but it’s always nice to know that people are still thinking of you back home.

I’ve only managed to send out a handful of postcards and one birthday present so far. The post office is often closed by the time I get home from work. Hopefully I’ll be able to send out more soon. To those who have sent something (or more than one thing in some cases), even if it’s just a handwritten letter, it means the world and always puts a smile on my face.

**As a quick side note, one of my best friends from the States told me today that she can visit in April. I’m super excited! Maybe by then I’ll be fluent in Turkish and can show off my amazing skills. Or you know, at least be able to order her lunch.

 

Leave a Reply

